Skip to content
GitHub Twitter

Module 1

Screen Cast Topic!

I decided to make a presentation on the differences between standard and mechanical keyboards.

   

Reflection Questions

"Which principles did you have in mind when you were creating your screen-cast? Which were you able to employ and which were more challenging to follow?"

The principles that were shown in this screen-cast were the:

  • Signaling principle:

    Made text bullet point and summarized, pointed to where I was talking on the screen

  • Contiguity principles:

    I made sure the relevant text were near labels/photos. I also pointed to what I was talking about on the screen

  • Segmenting:

    For the break down of the mechanical switch, I broke it down into smaller parts, I should have been coherent with the labels on screen and the parts I verbally said out loud.

  • Personalization Principle and Voice Principle:

    I used causal language and tried to speak loud (used my own voice). I also tried to give background information if not clear (ex: why we put lube in our switches)

The principles that were lacking in this screen cast were the:

  • Redundancy principle:

    Some slides did include graphics, narration, and text. I think they were necessary though but I probably could have found a way to split them up.

  • Image Principle:

    I decided to record my face during the screen cast for a more human like presentation. I made sure my face was small, and it didn't block any information. But sadly, this was not following the Image Principle.

   

YouTube Video

Here is the screen cast I made uploaded to youtube!

If you are having troubles viewing the video, here is the link: Keyboards: Mechanical vs. Regular

   

2 comments
  • Saksham

    I found the presentation about you keyboard really fun and interesting. I never thought about creating a presentation like this but really cool!
    The response to reflection questions is also organized is points which makes it easier and faster to read through! But my favourite part is still the presentation about the keyboards because I myself have a couple and keep getting fascinated about getting another once in a while.


  • Nour (nkamel)

    Hey Nima! First of all, I wanted to say that I love the look of your website! Second of all, I loved the video that you made. It was full of interesting information and I learned a lot from it. I like your addition of GIFs and all of the different comparisons you made between the different kinds of keyboards. Great video and post!